05 Book Banter with Elaine Chissick

Introducing Elaine Chissick

Elaine

  1.  #IndieBookBanter today welcomes our beautiful guest Elaine. She is a big blogger so make sure you click on the logo to visit her wix web pages called ChissickChat.  Please tell us a little bit about yourself, and the best place for us to find out more.

Hi, I’m Elaine Chissick. I was born in Yorkshire in the early seventies and now live on the North East coast, five minutes from the beach. I have written and self-published a true life story, and two fiction novels along the lines of the erotic/romance genre. When I say ‘along the lines’, I mean, ‘not quite whips and chains but a little more than leaving the reader at the bedroom door …’
I write anywhere – the beach, my desk, in bed, the sofa, the café, the garden, in the car while waiting for the kids, I even make notes on my phone if I’m out and about. I don’t really have a favourite place to write. Motivation comes from my characters wanting their stories to be heard. A secret about me? If I told you that, it wouldn’t be a secret anymore!

Marias website

Click the logo to go to Chissick Chat

2. Briefly tell us about your work in progress, what are you planning next? 

I am currently working on research for my next fiction novel. I’m not sure if it’s going to be novel or novella length but it centres around two characters called Sebastian and Carol-Anne. It will have elements of the romance/erotic genre but will also be dipping its toe into the murder/mystery genre. As I (and one of my characters) have a love of food and cooking, I’m also working on a recipe book.

3. What was the most unusual source of inspiration for any of your books?

Oh, oooo, erm … The inspiration for the true life book came from the desire to pass on information to other people who might be in the same boat as we were, but didn’t know what to do about it.

I began writing fiction when I was 14/15, so I’ve always had a love for it. I was at that age when I wrote the bare bones of what was to become ‘Ties That Bind’. But back then, dreams were to be ignored in favour of “getting a job and paying my way.” So it wasn’t until I’d written the true life as a reference for others, that I finally plucked up the courage to re-visit the typed and handwritten pages of my past, and resurrect the dream.

4. Who was your favourite character to write about?

I love all my characters, even the bad ones. Friends joke that I have multiple personalities – they are probably closer to the truth than they think and being a Gemini helps – so having a diverse array of characters gives me the chance to explore each different personality. I love the fact that Gabriel tries to hide his vulnerability behind his professional façade, and although he is responsible for upholding the law, he will go to extreme lengths to protect what’s his, including his scarred heart. Alexandra, on the other hand, acts first and thinks later. She’s headstrong, brave, opinionated and mouthy, and can cut you down with one sentence, cross her once and you might not get a chance to explain. But she loves harder and with more passion than anyone I know.

Greg is a ladies man, he’s the one your mother would love and your friends would try to steal. He’s a single guy who’s got more notches on his bedpost than slats under the mattress, but he can’t always see what’s right under his nose. He has a good business head which stops him getting emotionally involved, unfortunately this has rolled into his personal life too.

Lauren, who doesn’t appear until ‘Ties That Harm’, is a workaholic. She’s thrown herself into a job which she loves, but was never prepared to feel so bad about something that could become a regular occurrence. That being said, she’s more open to exploring things in the bedroom that you would think she’d be.

Gina is an evil mess. She’s been bankrolled by her father all her life while constantly on the lookout for more. She’s beautiful, graceful, a goddess to some, dressed from head to toe in designer labels, but has a heart so ugly you’d be forgiven for thinking she was spawned by Satan himself.

Dante is a young, impressionable man who idolizes his brother, until his brother pushes him into doing something he knows he shouldn’t, which ends with him paying a price.

These characters, along with a number of others, means that I really can’t have a favourite because they all bring something to the table that I love, as well as something that I dislike.

5. Finally you are invited on a mission to a New World (unfortunately you cannot take any members of your family, friends or pets). Please tell us:-

a) Your favourite fictional character to accompany you?

MacGyver. He can make anything out of anything! As much as I would like to have Gabriel with me, I think I’d have more chance of surviving if I had MacGyver with me. (and yes, the Richard Dean Anderson version please!)

b) Your favourite book?

I’m guessing I can’t pick my own, so it would have to be ‘The Queen And I’ by Sue Townsend.

c) Your favourite song?

Music plays a massive part in my life – I love all kinds, especially classical and movie scores, but I think I would have to say ‘32 Stories’ by Dogstar, and ‘Sand In My Shoes’ by Dido are joint favourites.

d) Your favourite food & drink to take with you (we don’t know what will be available on the New World).

Italian chicken, and latte.

e) Finally, tell us the one (Yes, that is just ONE) item you cannot live without?

My phone. I know, I know, a rubbish materialistic answer but my books are on it (and many more in the Kindle app), my contacts are in it, my emails (and my character’s emails and twitter feeds) run through it, I have an app on it which turns it into a word processor, and I can watch Lucifer on it!

Line seperator 02

 Here are Elaine’s books  with a short description. Click the image to go to Amazon :-

03 Willing & Able

 

‘Willing and Able, A True Story Of Adoption’

The story of how Elaine and her husband adopted two children and the journey it took them on.

 

 

 

 

Line seperator 02

01 Ties that Bind

‘Ties That Bind’

Erotic/Romance fiction about the Italian born Alexandra Dinapoli, a woman with a passion for horses and doing things her way, and the American born Gabriel Harland, a man who just happens to be the Chief Assistant DA for New York City. But what happens when someone from Alexandra’s past surfaces in Gabriel’s present?

Line seperator 02

02 Ties that Harm

‘Ties That Harm’

Alexandra and Gabriel’s story was told in Ties That Bind, but what happens when a past foe ups the ante with a threat that could destroy the worlds of two families?

Line seperator 02

Please #Follow #Like & #Share Elaine on Social Media

 IMG_20170402_093333

IMG_20170402_093433

Thank You for dropping by.

Happy Reading

IBB Love Reading 4

4 thoughts on “05 Book Banter with Elaine Chissick

    1. Thanks for visiting Deb more authors to be showcased over the next few weeks. Currently these Indie Authors are all those who will be attending the UK Indie Lit Fest on 26th August. Call back soon 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

