06 Book Banter with Chris Turnbull

Introducing Chris Turnbull

Chris

  1.  #IndieBookBanter today welcomes one of our founding members the loveable Chris Turnbull. We are BIG FANS of this author.  Please tell us a little bit about yourself, and the best place for us to find out more.

Hi, my name is Chris Turnbull. I live in the beautiful Yorkshire Wolds just outside York with my husband and Jack Russell called Olly.

As an author I mostly write stories set in the past, and love the element of researching times gone by. The genres of my books can vary, with Historical elements thrown in to most. I have also touched on Time travel, Romance, Gothic, Crime/Murder and most recently I have published my first children’s book ‘A Home For Emy’ which is based on my childhood dog.

I write mostly in my office, with my chair positioned to look out onto my garden. I love writing here as I can see the birds, butterflies and bees enjoying the variety of flowers I have.

Marias websiteClick the logo to go to Chris’s web page.

2. Briefly tell us about your work in progress, what are you planning next? 

In October 2015 I released a book named ‘D: Whitby’s Darkest Secret’. Ever since I have teased a second instalment would be released in 2017. I am pleased to say that the book is finished and edits are currently underway. ‘D: Revenge Hits London’ will be released in October.

Also I have decided to do a second children’s book of Emy, and the illustrations have already begun.

3. What was the most unusual source of inspiration for any of your books?

My first book was entitled ‘The Vintage Coat’ and was inspired by an actual military coat I purchased in an antique shop back in 2013. In March 2015 I published the book.

4. Who was your favourite character to write about?

More often than not I am drawn to the support characters more than the main character. In ‘The Vintage Coat’ I loved writing the character Charlie, he was playful, funny and somebody who I felt would make a great friend… I was thrilled when he turned into many readers favourite too. In ‘Whitby’s Darkest Secret’ I am more drawn to Tom, a young boy who is an orphan. He was a delight to write as I found him charming, funny, brave and somebody who doesn’t expect anything from anybody.

5. Finally you are invited on a mission to a New World (unfortunately you cannot take any members of your family, friends or pets). Please tell us:-

a) Your favourite fictional character to accompany you?

Probably Hermione Granger, she would be clever enough to keep me alive.

b) Your favourite book?

So many to choose (Hermione can take loads in her beaded handbag) – I think I would choose something fun, like Roald Dahl.

c) Your favourite song?

This is something that changes daily. I’m a huge Freddie Mercury and Queen fan, so anything by them would be ideal.

d) Your favourite food & drink to take with you (we don’t know what will be available on the New World).

I love Italian food…I could eat it every day.

e) Finally, tell us the one (Yes, that is just ONE) item you cannot live without?

As a writer it would be the internet, it is the best place to research…

…To go to the New World with I would choose to take food (I have seen I’m A Celeb and I am not eating bugs)


Here listed are the books  Chris has written so far with a short description:-

Vintage Coat 01‘The Vintage Coat’

Joseph Michaels is 25 and an accidental time traveler.

After losing his job Joe finds himself working at the local second-hand shop. One day whilst unpacking new stock Joe comes across an old military coat that he just can’t resist trying on.

Excited by the powers of the coat, Joe quickly takes it home where he discovers it allows him to travel between present day Alston, Cumbria and the same area during WWII.

Joe soon finds himself in the midst of living a double life.

However, one night an unexpected air raid hits town and everybody is thrown into disarray; and Joe is faced with standing up for the ones he loves, even if it could cost him everything.


D Whitby's Darkess Secret Front

‘D: Whitby’s Darkest Secret’

LESS than 3 years after the release of Bram Stokers novel Dracula, Whitby is tormented by a diehard fan who sees Dracula as his role model; and it isn’t long before women are being murdered, and the residents of Whitby are scared to leave their homes.

WHEN a young lady from London, who has travelled to Whitby with her new husband, is targeted, it is a race against time to catch this cloaked monster before he kills again.


D Darkest Beginings

‘D: Darkest Beginnings’

The prequel to ‘D: Whitby’s Darkest Secret’

What makes a young boy turn to the darkness? What turns an honest man into a monster? In this prequel to Whitby’s Darkest Secret, journey back and learn about the life of the boy, who grew up to become known simply as ‘D’

 


Carousel

‘CAROUSEL’

Jonathan was supposed to be getting married today, but instead he is in Paris; and what’s worse he is now over 120 years in the past.

Transported back by an old amusement carousel, Jonathan finds his life turned upside down as he finds himself stuck in 1889.

Desperate to return home, he goes in search of the carousel. Although his wish to return is high, he soon learns that his reasons to stay could be just as compelling.


Emy‘A Home For Emy’

On a cold autumn morning a basket of young puppies are left on the doorstep of an animal shelter with their Mother.

One by one they slowly leave for their new homes.

The smallest puppy, Emy watches as her brothers and sisters leave, and hopes that she too will find a home in time for Christmas.

A beautifully illustrated tale of a little dog who is desperate to find a home in time for Christmas.


Please drop by #Follow #Like & #Share Chris on Social Media

IMG_20170402_093333

IMG_20170402_093433

IMG_20170402_093508

Thank You for dropping by.

Happy Reading

IBB Love Reading 4

One thought on “06 Book Banter with Chris Turnbull

Leave a Reply

