07 Book Banter with K.S. Marsden

Introducing K.S. Marsden

Kelly

  1.  #IndieBookBanter today welcomes our beautiful guest Kelly. We are big fans of the ‘Witch~Hunter Series’.  Please tell us a little bit about yourself, and the best place for us to find out more.

I am a Fantasy writer based in Yorkshire, although I have lived all over the UK and Ireland, in my search for adventure.

I have always been writing, and creating crazy stories; it is my favourite way to escape reality for a short while. When I’m not writing, I’m reading mainly indie authors, and reviewing them on my Northern Witch blog.

Marias websiteClick on the logo to go to Kelly’s webpage

Northern WitchClick the cauldron to go to the Northern Witch’s Book Blog

2. Briefly tell us about your work in progress, what are you planning next? 

I am currently working on two projects, which should be released later this year:

i) James – a prequel to the ‘Witch-Hunter trilogy’ that tells how James, Charlotte and Hunter all got dragged into the world of witch-hunting, while at Oxford University.

ii) Unnamed – a sequel to ‘Winter Trials’ (which is now called the ‘Northern Witch series’, thanks to the Roses & Dreams Christmas party!), where Mark adjusts to the fact his new boyfriend is possessed by a demon.

3. What was the most unusual source of inspiration for any of your books?

My mild obsession with witches in fiction all stems from a long-running family joke. My dad used to wind us up, saying that all the women in our family were witches, and that our Nanna would turn us into toads if we didn’t behave. In response, me, my brother and sister would get Nanna something witch-related (e.g. cauldrons, candles, brooms) as a joke present every birthday and Christmas.

‘The Witch-Hunter trilogy’ actually started with the idea of a witch that was evil, and the most powerful in history, and who would stop her. When I was at university, I started to research historical witch-hunts, and began to form a story about what would happen if the witch-hunters still existed as an official organisation.

4. Who was your favourite character to write about?

I have a different favourite every day!

As I am currently working on James’ story – I have to say James Bennett.

He features in the ‘Witch-Hunter trilogy’, as Hunter’s best friend and colleague. He is a source of constant amusement, never afraid to embarrass himself or speak his mind. He sees through Hunter’s arrogance and is always ready to bring him back to earth when his ego gets too big.

The best witch-hunters are born (the descendants of witch-hunting families gain extra strength, speed and natural immunity to witches), and James is what’s called a 1st gen. As far as the Council is concerned, he’s a nobody and will be nothing more than an assistant to someone like Hunter.

Despite the fact that he doesn’t have the natural advantage of the higher gen witch-hunters, James never turns from a fight, and never hesitates.

He’s so much fun to write, as he has no filter on what he says or does. I’m currently writing about his university days, and any time I hesitate and think “is this too much?” I realise that this is James’ book: there is no such thing as “too much”.

5. Finally you are invited on a mission to a New World (unfortunately you cannot take any members of your family, friends or pets). Please tell us:-

a) Your favourite fictional character to accompany you?

Sicarius from ‘Emperor’s Edge’ by Lindsay Buroker.

He’s a cold-hearted assassin that is well-trained to survive in any environment, so excellent to make sure I don’t get into too much trouble.

b) Your favourite book?

A single favourite book? I can narrow it down to a bookcase.

If I get to take a bookcase with me, the shelves could make good impromptu weapons if we’re attacked; and at a push it could become firewood if we don’t have somewhere warm at night.

c) Your favourite song?

‘Best of You’ by Foo Fighters.

I finally got to see them live the other year, and Dave Grohl sang Best of You, just for me. There may have been 50,000 other people in the arena, but it was definitely for me.

d) Your favourite food & drink to take with you (we don’t know what will be available on the New World).

Coffee, because I need it to remain human.

Also chocolate – or even better, the ingredients for my famous chocolate cheesecake – the perfect way to make new friends in the new world.

e) Finally, tell us the one (Yes, that is just ONE) item you cannot live without?

I really want to say my horse – a useful mode of transport in many fantasy worlds. But he’s being a bit of a prat at the moment, and I wouldn’t trust him to move in a straight line (in the correct direction).

So I will say my laptop. It is permanently fused to my lap, I’m always working on it, or making notes. I can only imagine how much I’ll want to write about the new world.

Line seperator 02

Here is a list of Kelly’s books with a short description:-

Witch Hunter 01

The Shadow Rises (Witch-Hunter #1)

Hunter Astley gets screwed.

Hunter Astley has to track down and stop the biggest threat in history – the Shadow Witch. With the help of James and new recruit Sophie, they have to take any measures necessary to fight back against the oncoming tide.

Witch Hunter 02

The Shadow Reigns (Witch-Hunter #2)

Hunter gets screwed: Round 2.

The new world is depressing, with no electricity or communication, and the constant threat of witch attacks. But there is still hope, and still the will to fight back.

Witch Hunter 03

The Shadow Falls (Witch-Hunter #3) 

Hunter gets royally screwed.

After Hunter tracks down the mysterious Benandanti, he finds himself with some surprising new allies. Questions will be answered in this thrilling finale.

Line seperator 02

01 Enchena

The Lost Soul (Enchena #1) 

The rebel Gardyn and tyrannical King Hrafn race to claim the legendary powers of the Lost Soul, while Samantha and David are two teenagers feeling lost in this intense world.

02 Enchena

The Oracle (Enchena #2)

Jemma is coerced into helping the Gardyn, as her visions may be the only thing that can guide them to victory; but she struggles to live up to expectations.

Line seperator 02

Winter Trials

Winter Trials (Northern Witch #1)

As Mark starts to learn about witchcraft, he could never guess what a black aura and the mysterious new guy could mean.

Line seperator 02

Please drop by #Follow #Like & #Share Kelly on Social Media

IMG_20170402_093333

IMG_20170402_093433

goodreads-logo

Thank You for dropping by.

Happy Reading

IBB Love Reading 4

One thought on “07 Book Banter with K.S. Marsden

Leave a Reply

