10 Book Banter with Michael Wombat

Introducing Michael Wombat

  1.  #IndieBookBanter today welcomes Michael Wombat.  Please tell us a little bit about yourself, and the best place for us to find out more.

Je suis Michael Wombat, et je ne sais pas et je ne sais pas pourquoi je parle français. Ah, that’s better. I’m a Yorkshireman living in Lancashire (yes, I know). I never knowingly stay in one genre ; life would be too boring that way. My favourite writing place ever was at the end of the harbour wall in the tiny cliff-hugging village of Gamrie in Scotland for one glorious week, but more usually I’m at my desk with the Skyrim soundtrack playing. Few know that I was abducted by pirates at the age of twelve I quickly rose to captain the feared privateer ‘The Mrs. Nesbitt’ and terrorised the Skull Coast throughout my early twenties. Narrowly escaping the Revenue men by dressing as a burlesque dancer, I went on to work successively and successfully as a burlesque dancer, a forester, a busker, and a magic carpet salesman. The fact that I was once one of that forgotten company, the bus conductors, will immediately tell you that I really am as old as the hills in which I live. Nowadays I spend my time writing, and lying in my bio.

Marias website

Click the logo to go to Michael’s WordPress Blog

2. Briefly tell us about your work in progress, what are you planning next? 

I’m currently working on two full-length books, the first a medieval mystery thriller set in 1322, “The Raven’s Wing”, which is due to be published this year. For my second WIP I have been commissioned to write the biography of an American pilot who risked his citizenship by joining the Royal Canadian Air Force at the start of WW2, before the USA joined the war, in order to fight for the Allies.

3. What was the most unusual source of inspiration for any of your books?

I’m not sure it’s that unusual, but most of my ideas are sparked from things that my Twitter followers talk about. That’s one of the reasons I include so many of them in my stories.

4. Who was your favourite character to write about?

I think Finn, from “Fog”, a totally lovable hero who turns out maybe not to be what you might think. I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve been either thoroughly told off (or applauded; the reaction split seems about 50/50) for that ending. He was a fascinating man to write, and kept surprising me.

5. Finally you are invited on a mission to a New World (unfortunately you cannot take any members of your family, friends or pets). Please tell us:-

a) Your favourite fictional character to accompany you?

Octavia kom Skaicru – easy on the eye and a complete badass.

b) Your favourite book?

‘The Diary of Samuel Pepys’ – all nine volumes plus the Index and Companion, please. Now THERE is a fascinating character. Click the image to visit one of several Pepys websites listing pages from his diary.

Samuel_Pepys

c) Your favourite song?

I hate questions like these. There’s never a single favourite that stays favourite constantly. Can I choose the Skyrim soundtrack, the better to facilitate my writing? (see also the next question but one).

d) Your favourite food & drink to take with you (we don’t know what will be available on the New World).

A constant supply of cheesy gravy chips (no you shut up), and liquorice & mint tea, please.

e) Finally, tell us the one (Yes, that is just ONE) item you cannot live without?

A laptop/word processor on which to write (and play RPGs while Octavia is out hunting our dinner).

Line seperator 02

 Below is a list of Michaels books plus a short description:-

Warren Peace

‘Warren Peace’

Aa novel of talking animals.

Think Magnificent Seven with fur.

 

Line seperator 02

Fog

‘Fog’

A sexy, violent, funny, slightly supernatural thriller.

Line seperator 02

Cubic Scats

‘Cubic Scats’

A collection of essays, articles, short stories and blog posts.

Line seperator 02

moth Girl

‘Moth Girl versus The Bats’

A steampunky tale based on the songs of Thea  Gilmore.

Line seperator 02

Blood on the grounsd

‘Blood on the Ground’

A collection of tales including a supernatural Western.

Line seperator 02

Soul of the Universe

‘Soul of the Universe’

A music-inspired anthology (contributor and editor).

Line seperator 02

Cutthroats & Curses

 

 

‘Cutthroats & Curses’

An anthology of pirates (contributor and editor).

 

Line seperator 02

Human 76

‘Human 76’

A post-apocalyptic anthology (as contributor and editor).

Line seperator 02

Museum

‘The Museum of White Walls’

Forty-one monkeybonkers stories & three poems.

Line seperator 02

Descent

‘Descent’ – (Kindle short)

What would go through YOUR mind, if you were thrown out of a Lancaster bomber at twenty thousand feet without a parachute like Squadron Leader Peter Crighton-Biggie?

Line seperator 02

Tooth & Claw

‘Tooth and Claw’ – (Kindle short) 

A short dragon tale

Line seperator 02

Please drop by #Follow #Like & #Share Michaels pages on Social Media

IMG_20170402_093333

IMG_20170402_093433

Marias website

Wordpress PicsClick the camera to visit Michaels photography blog

Line seperator 02

Thank You for dropping by.

Happy Reading

IBB Love Reading 4

One thought on “10 Book Banter with Michael Wombat

Leave a Reply

