15 Book Banter with Irene Lofthouse

Introducing Irene Lofthouse

Irene bio pic

  1.  #IndieBookBanter today welcomes our storytelling Indie Author Irene Lofthouse.  Please tell us a little bit about yourself, and the best place for us to find out more.

Eyup, Irene Lofthouse here from Bradford, by way of Ireland (mum) & Lancashire (dad), which is really helpful when creating characters and voices. I’ve always liked spooky tales and told them in the playground at school, so it’s no surprise that my children’s collections are in this vein. However, I also write a lot of comedic scripts, as well as stories inspired by history. Some of my favourite places to write are no more as town centres change and cafes close; so instead I’ve built a Cabane  d’Histoires in my back garden where I can hide from the rain, with dog at foot and watch the blue tits building their nest whilst I’m writing. I’m essentially a very lazy person and would rather read all day than write, so I have to have deadlines or nothing gets written or done.

Marias website

Click the logo to go to Irenes’s ‘Word Sauce’ web page

2. Briefly tell us about your work in progress, what are you planning next? 

I’m currently working on book 3 in my children’s series, Strange Tales in Calderdale – re-tellings and re-imaginings of local myths and legends with some original stories. Capt Red Hand’s Adventures, which has been three years in the making is progressing – pirates, sea monsters, sirens and a dog with a nose for treasure. Also my one-woman show Words, Women & War: Forgotten Female Voices of The Great War, which I’ll be touring late 2017/2018 and which I hope to develop into a book – and I have some smaller anthology projects in the pipeline.

3. What was the most unusual source of inspiration for any of your books?

As I’m mainly a short story writer, I’ll share two. One is an old turnpike mounting block which features in The Phantom Coach. There are several of these on the main roads where I live and people walk and drive past them all the time, never noticing them now. The other was for Under a Northern Sky with 26.org which twinned a railway station with a Nick Drake song: I had to write a creative response that linked them together. This became Betty the Beautiful. Check it out by clicking the train ticket below:

New-Cumnock

4. Who was your favourite character to write about?

I don’t think I’ve got a favourite yet, as they all have something different about them. Having said that, Snapper, the dog with a nose for treasure in Capt Red Hand’s Adventures is shaping up to be a quirky character who I’d want to spend time with.

5. Finally you are invited on a mission to a New World (unfortunately you cannot take any members of your family, friends or pets). Please tell us:-

a) Your favourite fictional character to accompany you?

So many to choose from. Probably Tobermory the talking cat from Saki’s collection of short stories.

b) Your favourite book?

I don’t have a favourite. But perhaps a bumper collection of Saki, MR James & Chaucer

c) Your favourite song?

I don’t have a favourite. Maybe ‘Now this is what I call Music 1960-2000’????

d) Your favourite food & drink to take with you (we don’t know what will be available on the New World).

Wine, cafe au lait, roasted med veg, water, date and walnut bread, cheese

e) Finally, tell us the one (Yes, that is just ONE) item you cannot live without?

Music to bop to

Line seperator 01


 Here is are Irene’s books with a short description:-

Stranger-Tales-in-the-Dales-HiRes

Strange Tales in the Dales: aimed at 7-12s  £5.99

Open the pages and walk with twins Georgie and Joe as time shifts, gryphons fly and gargoyles come to life. Travel on the new railway with Jack and the ghost. Ride with the headless horseman as he takes revenge on the crabbit old landlady. Listen to Nan’s story of the housekeeper who doesn’t know she’s dead. Join Jenna in the Dales as she meets the spectral hound. Journey with Joseph to discover a haunting in the big house.

Line seperator 01

Strange Tales 01

Strange Tales in Bradford Dale: aimed at 7-12s £7.99

Travel with Darren and Chel as they try to escape from a phantom carriage and its grisly driver. Will Ranulf and Aleycia kill the last wild ravaging boar of Bradford? Meet the boggart in the beck. Are the group of ghoulish theatre spirits friendly? Why does Royalty paddle in the park? Can a trio of friends unravel the sphinxes’ riddle before sunset? Discover the secret of the Celtic carved head.

Line seperator 01

COMING SOON Strange Tales in Calderdale: aimed at 7-12s £7.99

Murders, mysteries and mayhem; ghosts, ghouls and goblins; spirits, spectres and suspense. Stories to shake the senses, tales to tantalise. Myths, legends and new takes on old favourites.

Line seperator 01

Please drop by #Follow #Like & #Share Irene on Social Media

IMG_20170402_093333

IMG_20170402_093433

Wordsauce-Logo

Fresh Aire Productions

Thank You for dropping by.

Happy Reading

IBB Love Reading 4

4 thoughts on “15 Book Banter with Irene Lofthouse

  1. Eyup! (I haven’t said that for years.) I’m from the Bradford district too – Thackley, to be exact. I lived in Morton for just about all of my school years, and it influenced my writing. That environment is strong. I can see it in your work. I enjoyed the interview.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ‘Eyup!’ right back at you Judith it was the same for me when I first got to write up Irene’s interview I had not said the word for some time. I’m a Donny (Doncaster) lass myself now living in Hereford, West Mids. We really appreciate you dropping by and especially a big THANK YOU for leaving a comment.

    Irene and around 40 other Indie Writers, Poets and publishers will be LIVE or represented at our FREE UK Indie Lit Fest on 26th August 2017 in Bradford it would be wonderful to meet you. Click the link for more information

    https://indiebookbanter.wordpress.com/about/

    Like

Leave a Reply

