19 Book Banter with Felicity Snowden

Fliss Image 03

Introducing Felicity Snowden

  1.  #IndieBookBanter today welcomes Felicity Snowden.  Please tell us a little bit about yourself, and the best place for us to find out more.

My name is Felicity Snowden and I was born in Leeds – a Yorkshire lass through and through and I write historical time switch mysteries. I was a late starter when it came to writing fiction and although I had a great love of music, drama and history I can’t remember my parents introducing me to the world of books as a youngster. Much of my inspiration comes from travelling around our beautiful county of Yorkshire – the Dales, the coast and historical sites. However, I began writing my first novel in the beautiful Rhodopi Mountains, Bulgaria where the peace and tranquillity provided an ideal environment and opportunity to write. As a passionate time traveller I can get lost in the thrill of research – the perfect era, a significant event, an intriguing personality and much of my time when I am not working on my next title.

Marias website

Click the logo to find out more on Facebook ‘A Time Travellers Tale’

2. Briefly tell us about your work in progress, what are you planning next? 

Currently I am working on another McBride Murder Mystery entitled “Windler’s List”. It’s the second in the series, set in modern day Leeds – with a time switch taking you back to 1870’s. When a new student goes missing from his digs, my detective duo are united again as they search for answers in the distant past.   

3. What was the most unusual source of inspiration for any of your books?

As far as inspiration is concerned I didn’t have to look far when I wrote ‘When Dead Men won’t Lie’. Living at the foot of an ancient burial ground, where 2,000 soldiers lay buried certainly aroused my interest. Strange and haunting events that we encountered whilst there provided the atmospherics and before long I was on the research trail transported back to the Yorkshire of the Civil Wars.

4. Who was your favourite character to write about?

I love creating my characters, defining their personalities and traits; their looks,  their individual role and how they interact with their counterparts. It‘s difficult to identify a specific favourite in my books but the darker personalities always grab me as I weave them into the plot – sometimes with a surprising outcome as the story unfolds. It must be the Denis Wheatley or the Steven King influence.

5. Finally you are invited on a mission to a New World (unfortunately you cannot take any members of your family, friends or pets). Please tell us:-

a) Your favourite fictional character to accompany you?

I’m not really a futuristic or dystopian kind of person but if I were to find myself in a new world I’d like to take along Pollyanna, from the book of the same name by Eleanor H Porter. She could always make a positive out of negative.

b) Your favourite book?

I wouldn’t survive without  ‘The Shell Seekers’ a book from my favourite author Rosamunde Pilcher

c) Your favourite song?

Bette Midler’s version of ‘Wind Beneath my Wings’.

d) Your favourite food & drink to take with you (we don’t know what will be available on the New World).

Life just wouldn’t be bearable without  Sirloin Steak, Chips and a glass of Rose

e) Finally, tell us the one (Yes, that is just ONE) item you cannot live without?

I am a very family minded person and if my nearest and dearest couldn’t accompany me I’d need to take a Photo album.  

Line seperator 02

 Here are Felicity ‘s books with a short description:-

‘When Dead Men won’t Lie’

When Dead Men wont LieEleven year old Niall Robson is a Yorkshire lad with a vivid imagination, who retreats into a fantasy world of heroes and villains, to colour his post- war childhood. But Niall’s real world is falling apart. His Dad is out of work, his mother at the end of her tether and his sister out of her mind.

Then literally, just beyond his back door Niall makes a fascinating discovery, triggering a series of haunting events that will change his life forever.

Is it the ranting and raving of his neighbours that Niall can hear through the paper thin walls or voices from another time?

Will he solve the mystery of the handsome stranger who steals his sister’s heart?              

Can he rise above the taunts and tortures he suffers at the hand of two brainless bullies?    

And will he retain his sense of humour and staunch optimism in the face of adversity?

Things are looking increasingly grim in the Robson household and Niall realises that he must forego his childhood fantasies and step into the real world in order to discover the truth and find the true heroes in his life.

Line seperator 02

Grave Misconception – A McBride Murder Mystery

Grave MisconceptionTwenty one year old Lucien Bannister is a typical youth of the 21st century. He is disillusioned with his life, angry and confused. In the aftermath of his unusual childhood and turbulent teens he eventually seeks the support of his former Goth friends in Whitby, but strangely he now feels like an outsider.

Why is he here?                       Who can he trust?          

And how will he protect his young sister, Ellie from the evil that lurks there? 

A century before at the outbreak of the Great War a plucky, young Kate Pickering is determined to solve the mystery attached to a handsome stranger arriving in Whitby. Affected by trauma and subsequent amnesia, Kate helps the stranger to regain his health and restore his memory. Then just when they think he will make a full recovery, both physically and mentally – he takes an unexpected turn for the worse.

Who is the mystery man?                Where does he come from?     

And can Kate uncover the truth about his sudden relapse?     

Separated by some hundred years Kate and Lucien have a strange connection.  Time passes, people change but MURDER is always MURDER.

Line seperator 02

Please drop by #Follow #Like & #Share Felicity’s pages on Social Media

IMG_20170402_093333

IMG_20170402_093433

YouTube.png

Thank You for dropping by.

Happy Reading

IBB Love Reading 4

Leave a Reply

