27 Book Banter with Bernie-the-Bolt

Bernie pic 2

Introducing Bernie-the-Bolt

  1.  #IndieBookBanter today welcomes a new raw talent that is the poet Bernie-the-Bolt.  Please tell us a little bit about yourself, and the best place for us to find out more.

Hello Dandy People, my name is Bernadette O’Horo, (also known by my pseudonym name Bernie-the-Bolt) and I’m from England and live in the Borough of West Yorkshire.

My Poetic Journey really began to take flight in November 2015 when I met Marian Barker a new-found friend at a Poetry workshop at Keighley Library, she really encouraged me and from then on, my network of writing and meeting fellow Authors, Writers and Poets began. Ideally my family were just as supportive.

In January 2017, I met David Driver from Drystone Radio and was invited onto his show ‘The Writers Bookshelf’, from then on, I started to gain a good following and decided I had a talent worth investing time into. Even more, people liked the material I wrote which was deeply encouraging considering I’m no Pro (she laughs).

My genre is mainly Political mixed in with simplistic subject matters. Writing Poetry makes me happy, it’s very addictive and I think that the greatest creation on earth is inside our own imagination where we can find a voice and an outlet to share with others what takes place in the mind. Poetry, to me is ‘escapism’. I am motivated to write Poetry in a kooky way, which is designed to make people think. I always write on my laptop and print my poems off it’s something I like to do in the comfort of my own living room.

I am a major new Romantic Fan, can’t beat the 80’s which was radical and diverse in every shape and form. I was nicknamed Bernie-the-Bolt by the Dinner ladies at school as I was quite a chaotic and wild child.

My New Guilty Pleasure is Lords of Strut who appeared on Britain’s Got Talent this year, I’m a sucker for any kind of quirky and catchy act. I think they had potential and they made me belly laugh. 

Marias website

Click the logo to go to Bernie’s simple web page.

Nothing fancy she tells me. Who needs flash, when you have such a raw and unique talent anyway we say. To follow Bernie’s Blog click the square at the top right of Bernie’s page to open the menu and the follow button is there.

2. Briefly tell us about your work in progress, what are you planning next?

I have literally just finished my first book entitled: Liquorice, which contains my first set of 35 punchy poems relating to subject matters such as Homophobia, Drugs, Banning the Burqa, War, Capitalism, Gender Inequality and more.

I am currently working on my second book entitled: A Different Kind of Trainspotter, which contains subject matters such as Immigration, Voting, Gender Bending, Prostitution, Populism, Favouritism and more.

The book is dedicated to the memories of my auntie and uncle who sadly passed away from Cancer and so half the profits I make from selling my books (if I’m lucky that people will buy them), will be going to Cancer Research and the other half to my peer at college to help support her trip to Dunkirk, where she aims to go and help the Syrian Refugees.

I wanted to pay it forward and give something back to the community and what better way to do it than by writing poetry. ‘Every little helps’, as Tesco always says. I am currently studying at Bradford College a Social Work Degree and wanted to write poetry that challenges people’s perceptions.

3. What was the most unusual source of inspiration for any of your books?

I guess I’d have to say Politics. Before starting my University Degree in 2016 I never paid that much attention to the News or Politics, but because Social Work is quite a Politicized Career when I started College I had to pay more attention (she laughs). I then found myself drawn to writing about Political Issues with Liquorice Footprints being one of my Signature Poems. I wrote it after meeting a man who was homeless on the Streets of Bradford and that really spoke to me. It’s those small encounters that speak to us the most, I find. I am quite blessed in the respects that I have a very distinct writing style, no one can write like me and I not like them and that’s the beauty of networking.

4. Who was your favourite character to write about?

‘Ban that Bloody Burqa Poem’, would have to be my most favourite piece to date. I had so much fun writing about it, due to its highly contested nature and the amount of controversy it causes when brought up. I think my inner rebel came out. However, I was frightened at the responses I may receive, but on the other hand I thought to myself; sometimes as a poet you must go to places you’ve never been before as that’s how you develop, learn and grow as a writer. It’s all part of honing your craft and telling the audience something they may not have known.

5. Finally you are invited on a mission to a New World (unfortunately you cannot take any members of your family, friends or pets). Please tell us:-

a) Your favourite fictional character to accompany you?

Cow & Chicken – Loved that cartoon as a kid.

b) Your favourite book?

Julian Clary – A Young Man’s Passage

c) Your favourite song?

Culture Club – Karma Chameleon

d) Your favourite food & drink to take with you (we don’t know what will be available on the New World).

Strawberry & Lime Kopparberg and Steak.

e) Finally, tell us the one (Yes, that is just ONE) item you cannot live without?

My Hat.


 Here is Bernie’s poetry book with a short description:-

‘Liquorice’

Liquorice

You never know what you’re going to get or if you’re going to like it!

Hence the inspiration for the title of this book.

Melancholic, honest, insightful and thought provoking – it is a must read and perfect for a rainy day.

 

 

 


‘A  Different Kind of Trainspotting’

Book 2

Ever wondered what linguistic soup tastes like? Then you’ve come to the right place. Flavoured with peppered words, designed to get you thinking.

So come on open up and be a ‘Different Kind of Trainspotter’, choose life, choose poetry, choose creation. Let glitter leak from the needle and kiss goodbye to Brown Sugar.

‘Let these pills, give you fruity thrills.’

Enjoy.



Please drop by #Follow #Like & #Share Bernie’s Pages on Social Media

IMG_20170402_093333

IMG_20170402_093508

Thank You for dropping by.

Happy Reading

IBB Love Reading 4

Leave a Reply

