31 Book Banter with P.R. Ellis

Peter 1b

Introducing P.R. Ellis

1. #IndieBookBanter today welcomes P.R. Ellis.  Please tell us a little bit about yourself, and the best place for us to find out more.

My Jasmine Frame novels carry the name P R Ellis which was intended to create questions about my gender.  Since the first, Painted Ladies, was published in 2013 however, it is now widely known that I am transgender or more accurately, gender-fluid and known as Peter or Penny depending. . . (on anything really). I was brought up in Cardiff, spent 35 years as a science teacher and am now living in the Welsh borders with my wife, Alison. 

SF was (is?) my first love but I have ended up writing fantasy, (or speculative fiction my publisher prefers to call it) and (self-published) crime thrillers featuring a transsexual detective. I have always loved writing stories and now I have the time to do it properly (well, I hope so). I can write anywhere but I love having my study with my books all around me. 

For a long time, my big secret was that I was trans but that one’s out now.  Another not really secret is that I have had two erotic novels published under the pseudonym, Angela Meadows.

Marias website

Click the logo to go to P.R.’s web page

2. Briefly tell us about your work in progress, what are you planning next?

My fourth fantasy/speculative novel featuring September Weekes, called Cold Fire will be out very soon. I’m currently writing the fourth Jasmine Frame crime novel called Molly’s Boudoir and I am keeping the flow of Jasmine Frame novellas going on my blog. I am also beginning to research a Bronze Age fantasy set on the Isles of Scilly (I was inspired by a holiday there in May) tentatively called Between Rock and Sea.

3. What was the most unusual source of inspiration for any of your books?

I don’t know whether it is unusual but the first September Weekes, Seventh Child novel was inspired by a writing club assignment and Cold Fire was inspired by a three-hundred-year-old Italian painting of an alchemist’s laboratory with flying cherubs called “putti”, on display at the Oxford Museum of the History of Science.

4. Who was your favourite character to write about?

Two favourites – detective Jasmine Frame and schoolgirl saviour September Weekes.

5. Finally you are invited on a mission to a New World (unfortunately you cannot take any members of your family, friends or pets). Please tell us:-

a) Your favourite fictional character to accompany you?

Arthur Dent

b) Your favourite book?

Impossible! There are so many books I love that I couldn’t possibly pick one. I suppose the book I have re-read most is Lord of the Rings but ones that stick in my memory more than most are Asimov’s Foundation trilogy and robot books, (I first read them when I was about 12)

c) Your favourite song?

Another difficult one. Do you mean song or track? I like most of Mike Oldfield’s output especially the album Crises

d) Your favourite food & drink to take with you (we don’t know what will be available on the New World).

Egg mayonnaise sandwiches and ginger beer

e) Finally, tell us the one (Yes, that is just ONE) item you cannot live without?

Apart from my wife, who I don’t think would like to be called an item, it has to be some means of writing whether it is my tablet/desktop/phone or a pen/pencil and paper.


 Here are the books of P.R. Ellis & Peter R. Ellis with a short description:-

Painted Ladies: a Jasmine Frame Story

Jasmine Frame 01

Jasmine Frame was a policeman. Now she is chasing a knife killer who is going after transvestites. Jasmine finds her gender identity threatened.

 

 

 

 


Bodies By Design: the 2nd Jasmine Frame novel

Jasmine Frame 02

 

A burned body. A case of spontaneous combustion or a bid to hide the gender of the victim.  Jasmine Frame’s investigation draws her into the murkier depths of the transgender scene just as she is about to lose her masculinity.

 

 


The Brides’ Club Murder: the 3rd Jasmine Frame novel

Jasmine Frame 03

 

A murder in a country hotel. Ten suspects attending a transgender convention.  Jasmine Frame is asked to blend in to uncover the killer and finds herself in a classic murder mystery.

 

 

 



Now the books of Peter R. Ellis

Seventh Child (Evil Above the Stars Book 1)

Stars 01

September Weekes discovers a stone which draws her to Gwlad where she is hailed as the saviour. Before she faces the Malevolence, she must travel across the Land meeting monsters and dangers along the way to meet the Cludydd who summoned her.

 

 

 


The Power of Seven (Evil Above the Stars Book 2)

Stars 02

 

Before September can defeat the Malevolence, she must learn to use the powers with which she has been endowed, but even those are not sufficient to beat her biggest and closest enemy.

 

 

 


Unity of Seven (Evil Above the Stars Book 3)

Stars 03

 

September is back home, the Malevolence defeated, or so she thinks, but there is evil within her and she must call on her predecessors to achieve her final destiny.

 

 

 


***COMING SOON*** Cold Fire

Cold Fire

 

An alchemist follows a recipe for making Cold Fire and unleashes an evil on the world. September is summoned to fight it as she has before but she finds her powers in this universe are limited. What can she do to save the people, dragons, unicorns and mermaids?

 

 



Please drop by #Follow #Like & #Share Peter’s Pages on Social Media

IMG_20170402_093333Peter Ellis

Jasmine facebookJasmine Frame


Thank You for dropping by.

Happy Reading

IBB Love Reading 4

Leave a Reply

